AS Monaco FC

While the principality of Monaco may not technically be a part of France, it did not stop AS Monaco FC (Association Sportive de Monaco Football Club) from becoming a respected name in French football. Since their inception, they have claimed several Ligue 1 titles and Coupe de France trophies, while also making the finals of the 1992 Cup Winners' Cup and the 2004 Champions League. For the entirety of their lifespan, they have played their home games at the legendary Stade Louis II.

Basic facts

Founded: 1919
Country: France
City: Monaco

Home grounds

Stade Louis II (1939-1985)
Stade Louis II (1985-)

Main trophies

Ligue 1: 8
Coupe de France: 5

Prominent players

Delio Onnis, Bruno Bellone, Manuel Amoros, Patrick Battiston, Glenn Hoddle, Enzo Scifo, Jürgen Klinsmann, George Weah, Thierry Henry, Youri Djorkaeff, Lilian Thuram, Sonny Anderson, Emmanuel Petit, Fabien Barthez, David Trezeguet, Emmanuel Adebayor, Patrice Evra, Yaya Touré, James Rodríguez, Kylian Mbappé

Club records

Most games played: Ludovic Giuly (242)
Top goalscorer: Shabani Nonda (64)


Monaco was formed in 1919, through a merger of five different clubs in the region. After a failed attempt to turn professional in 1933, Monaco managed to overcome that hurdle in 1948 by entering the Second Division. Following a streak of solid results, they achieved promotion to the First Division in 1953, for the first time in their history.

The club's first taste of silverware came in the early 60s, under the charismatic manager Lucien Leduc. Following a victory over Seint Etienne in the 1960 Coupe de France final, Leduc led Monaco to a Ligue 1 title in 1961, as well as their first and only Double in 1963. After Leduc decided to move on, however, the club would slide back into mediocrity until the mid-70s and another streak of trophies: the Ligue 1 titles in 1979 and 1982 and the Coupe de France victories in 1980 and 1985.

After another barren spell in the mid-80s, the club hired a then relatively unknown coach named Arsène Wenger, who led the club to their fifth Ligue 1 title in his very first season with Monaco.

Even though they were challenging for the title in each of the successive seasons, Monaco had to settle with one Coupe de France trophy and a loss to Werder Bremen in the Cup Winners' Cup final before Wenger left the club in 1994. During Wenger's time at the club, Monaco became known as a team with a strong focus on its young stars such as Emmanuel Petit and Thierry Henry.

The young stars have frequently been grabbed by bigger clubs, but not for free … Anthony Martial was a record transfer for a player 20 years or less in 2015 (sold to Manchester United for €60M), James Rodrigues was the second most expensive player in 2014, when leaving for Real Madrid, and PSG had to pay the biggest transfer fee in history – €180 million – when Kylian Mbappé leaved for Monaco for Paris in 2018.

Shortly after clinching two more Ligue 1 titles in 1997 and 2000 and making the Champions League final in 2004, the club's numerous financial problems saw them relegated to the Second Division. Their fortunes changed when the club was bought by Russian billionaire Dmitry Rybolovlev in 2011; soon enough, the club returned to Ligue 1 and started competing for the title again.

By Martin Wahl



AS Monaco logoThe top part of the logo is a crown, which together with the gold color represent the royal associations. The current crest has “AS Monaco FC” written out in the shield while previous versions only had the initials “ASM FC” on the logo.

AS Monaco FC timeline

1919The club is established.
1953 First season in Ligue 1.
1961 First time Ligue 1 champions.
1979 First Coppa delle Alpi trophy.
1979 Winning Coupe de la Ligue for the first time.
2011 Russian businessman Dmitry Rybolovlev becomes the new club owner.
2018 Kylian Mbappé is sold to PSG for €180M, a new world transfer record.


Football clubs also founded in 1919

CF Belenenses logoCF Belenenses
Leeds United logoLeeds United
Valencia CF logoValencia CF

Football clubs ordered after establishment

Ligue 1 record

Season Position Points Notes
2017-18 2 80  
2016-17 1 95 8th league title
2015-16 3 65  
2014-15 3 71  
2013-14 2 80  
2012-13 - -  
2011-12 - -  
2010-11 18 44 Relegated
2009-10 8 55  
2008-09 11 45  
2007-08 12 47  
2006-07 9 51  
2005-06 10 52  
2004-05 3 63  
2003-04 3 75  
2002-03 2 68  
2001-02 15 39  
2000-01 11 43  
1999-00 1 65 7th league title

Ligue 1 – facts, stats and history

Champions League record

Season Tournament stage Notes
2015-16 Play-off  
2014-15 Quarter-finals Eliminated by Juventus
2005-06 Third qualifying round  
2004-05 Round of 16 Eliminated by PSV
2003-04 Final Defeated by Porto
2000-01 First group stage  
1997-98 Semi-finals Eliminated by Juventus
1993-94 Semi-finals Eliminated by Milan

Champions League – facts, stats and history