The DFB-Pokal (named after the organizing body Deutscher Fußball-Bund) began in 1952 as a processor to the Tschammerpokal that was played from 1935 to 1943 when it was halted due to the war and wasn't resumed until 1952 as DFB-Pokal. It is the most prestigious football competition in Germany next to Bundesliga.

Winners and runners-up

All the winners and runners-up trough the history of the DFB-Pokal.

Season Winner Runner-up
2019-2020 Bayern Munich Bayer Leverkusen
2018-2019 Bayern Munich RB Leipzig
2017-2018 Eintracht Frankfurt Bayern Munich
2016-2017 Borussia Dortmund Eintracht Frankfurt
2015-2016 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2014-2015 VfL Wolfsburg Borussia Dortmund
2013-2014 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2012-2013 Bayern Munich VfB Stuttgart
2011-2012 Borussia Dortmund Bayern Munich
2010-2011 Schalke 04 MSV Duisburg
2009-2010 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
2008-2009 Werder Bremen Bayer Leverkusen
2007-2008 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2006-2007 1. FC Nürnberg VfB Stuttgart
2005-2006 Bayern Munich Eintracht Frankfurt
2004-2005 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
2003-2004 Werder Bremen Alemannia Aachen
2002-2003 Bayern Munich 1. FC Kaiserslautern
2001-2002 Schalke 04 Bayer Leverkusen
2000-2001 Schalke 04 Union Berlin
1999-2000 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
1998-1999 Werder Bremen Bayern Munich
1997-1998 Bayern Munich MSV Duisburg
1996-1997 VfB Stuttgart Energie Cottbus
1995-1996 1. FC Kaiserslautern Karlsruher SC
1994-1995 Borussia Mönchengladbach VfL Wolfsburg
1993-1994 Werder Bremen Borussia Mönchengladbach
1992-1993 Bayer Leverkusen Hertha BSC II
1991-1992 Hannover 96 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1990-1991 1. FC Kaiserslautern 1. FC Köln
1989-1990 1. FC Kaiserslautern Werder Bremen
1988-1989 Borussia Dortmund Werder Bremen
1987-1988 Eintracht Frankfurt VfL Bochum
1986-1987 Hamburger SV Stuttgarter Kickers
1985-1986 Bayern Munich VfB Stuttgart
1984-1985 Bayer Uerdingen Bayern Munich
1983-1984 Bayern Munich Borussia Mönchengladbach
1982-1983 1. FC Köln Fortuna Köln
1981-1982 Bayern Munich 1. FC Nürnberg
1980-1981 Eintracht Frankfurt 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1979-1980 Fortuna Düsseldorf 1. FC Köln
1978-1979 Fortuna Düsseldorf Hertha BSC
1977-1978 1. FC Köln Fortuna Düsseldorf
1976-1977 1. FC Köln Hertha BSC
1975-1976 Hamburger SV 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1974-1975 Eintracht Frankfurt MSV Duisburg
1973-1974 Eintracht Frankfurt Hamburger SV
1972-1973 Borussia Mönchengladbach 1. FC Köln
1971-1972 Schalke 04 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1970-1971 Bayern Munich 1. FC Köln
1969-1970 Kickers Offenbach 1. FC Köln
1968-1969 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
1967-1968 1. FC Köln VfL Bochum
1966-1967 Bayern Munich Hamburger SV
1965-1966 Bayern Munich Meidericher SV
1964-1965 Borussia Dortmund Alemannia Aachen
1963-1964 1860 Munich Eintracht Frankfurt
1962-1963 Hamburger SV Borussia Dortmund
1961-1962 1. FC Nürnberg Fortuna Düsseldorf
1960-1961 Werder Bremen 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1959-1960 Borussia Mönchengladbach Karlsruher SC
1958-1959 Schwarz-Weiss Essen Borussia Neunkirchen
1957-1958 VfB Stuttgart Fortuna Düsseldorf
1956-1957 Bayern Munich Fortuna Düsseldorf
1955-1956 Karlsruher SC Hamburger SV
1954-1955 Karlsruher SC Schalke 04
1953-1954 VfB Stuttgart 1. FC Köln
1952-1953 Rot-Weiss Essen Alemannia Aachen

Venue for the final

The final has traditionally been held on neutral ground. Until 1981, it was played on various locations, but since 1985 it has been played in Berlin (Olympiastadion) every year.



Teams with most titles

List of clubs that have won the DFB-Pokal most times, concerning the period 1953-2020.

Table 2. Clubs and DFB-Pokal titles
Club Titles
Bayern Munich 20
Werder Bremen 6
Schalke 04 4
1. FC Köln 4
Borussia Dortmund 4
VfB Stuttgart 3
Hamburger SV 3
Borussia Mönchengladbach 3
1. FC Nürnberg 2

In total, 22 different clubs have won the cup through its history. If Tschammerpokal titles are counted, 1. FC Lokomotive Leipzig, Dresdner SC, Rapid Wien and Schwarz-Weiss Essen are included among the winners. Also, 1. Schalke 04 and FC Nürnberg should be noted for five and four trophies, respectively.


DFB-Pokal timeline

1935 The competition is established as Tschammerpokal.
1935 The competition is reintroduced after been cancelled since 1943 and rebranded to DFB-Pokal.
1941 Dresdner SC become the first club to win the cup two years in a row (1940-1941).
1955 Karlsruher SC become the first club to win the DFB-Pokal two years in a row (1955-1956).
2000 Bayern Munich become the first club to win the competition ten times
2020 Bayern Munich become the first club to win the competition twenty times