Europa League

In 2008, it was decided that UEFA Cup would change the name to UEFA Europe League for the coming next season. The competition change format from knockout matches to a group play in the first phase that would be succeeded by a knock-out stage. Another novelty was that the teams that was third-place in the first phase of UEFA Champions League group play would be participating in that knock-out stage.

Winners and runners-up

All the winners and runners-up so far trough the years of the Europa League.

Season Winner Runner-up
2016-2017 Manchester United Ajax
2015-2016 Sevilla Liverpool
2014-2015 Sevilla Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
2013-2014 Sevilla Benfica
2012-2013 Chelsea Benfica
2011-2012 Athl├ętico Madrid Athletic Bilbao
2010-2011 Porto Braga
2009-2010 Athl├ętico Madrid Fulham

The first Europa League tournament was played in the season 2009-2010. Before 2009 the tournament was called UEFA CUP, continue to UEFA Cup winners and runners-up.


The Europa League is a rather young competition and the legacy can't compete with other big European Cups. The most successful club so far is Sevilla with remarkable results, collecting three trophies.


As mentioned above, Sevilla has so far excelled themself in the competition. If all competitions, with both UEFA Cup and Europa League aggregated, Sevilla would have five titles, two more than any other time.