Euro 2020

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship (Euro 2020) is the 16th UEFA European Championship, a constest among European men's football team and the tournament is organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). Here you can find facts about Euro 2020 including dates, times, groups, fixtures, venues and historical stats. Notice: Euro 2020 was scheduled to take place 12 June-12 July 2020, but due to the coronavirus outbreak it will take place 11 June-11 July 2021.

Download pdf : The brief guide to 2020 UEFA European Football Championship

The (free) pdf-file include a print-friendly version of the content below with dates, venues, groups, match schedule with dates and game locations plus history and stats. Notice: some of the dates below are incorrect and will be updated later on.

Official poster

Official poster Euro 2020

Participating teams

  • Belgium
  • Italy
  • Russia
  • Poland
  • Ukraine
  • Spain
  • France
  • Turkey
  • England
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • Switzerland
  • Denmark
  • Wales


Opening game: Euro 2020 opens in Rome on 11 June 2021 with the match Turkey v Italy.
Group stage dates: The group stage is played June 11-23.
Group knockout phase dates: The knockout phase stage is played June 26-July 11.
The final dates: The final is played on July 11.

Cities and arenas

In total 12 stadiums will be used in the tournament.

The semi-finals and the final will be played at Wembley Stadium.

The groups

The top two in each group and the four best third-placed teams advance to the knockout phase.

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, (play-off winner) Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, (play-off winner)
Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, (play-off winner)
Group F: Portugal, France, Germany, (play-off winner)

This site will be updated when play-off winners are decided.



In total 51 matches are played during the competition. Notice: some of the dates below are incorrect and will be updated later on.


12 June

Group A: Turkey v Italy (CET 21:00, Rome)

13 June

Group A: Wales v Switzerland (15:00, Baku)
Group B: Denmark v Finland (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Belgium v Russia (21:00, St Petersburg)

14 June

Group D: England v Croatia (15:00, London)
Group C: Austria v Play-off winner D or A (18:00, Bucharest)
Group C: Netherlands v Ukraine (21:00, Amsterdam)

15 June

Group D: Play-off winner C v Czech Republic (15:00, Glasgow)
Group E: Poland v Play-off winner B (18:00, Dublin)
Group E: Spain v Sweden (21:00, Bilbao)

16 June

Group F: Play-off winner A or D v Portugal (18:00, Budapest)
Group F: France v Germany (21:00, Munich)

17 June

Group B: Finland v Russia (15:00, St Petersburg)
Group A: Turkey v Wales (18:00, Baku)
Group A: Italy v Switzerland (21:00, Rome)

18 June

Group C: Ukraine v Play-off winner D or A (15:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Denmark v Belgium (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group C: Netherlands v Austria (21:00, Amsterdam)

19 June

Group E: Sweden v Play-off winner B (15:00, Dublin)
Group D: Croatia v Czech Republic (18:00, Glasgow)
Group D: England v Play-off winner C (21:00, London)

20 June

Group F: Play-off winner A or D v France (15:00, Budapest)
Group F: Portugal v Germany (18:00, Munich)
Group E: Spain v Poland (21:00, Bilbao)

21 June

Group A: Italy v Wales (18:00, Rome)
Group A: Switzerland v Turkey (18:00, Baku)

22 June

Group C: Play-off winner D or A v Netherlands (18:00, Amsterdam)
Group C: Ukraine v Austria (18:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Russia v Denmark (21:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Finland v Belgium (21:00, St Petersburg)

23 June

Group D: Czech Republic v England (21:00, London)
Group D: Croatia v Play-off winner C (21:00, Glasgow)

24 June

Group E: Play-off winner B v Spain (18:00, Bilbao)
Group E: Sweden v Poland (18:00, Dublin)
Group F: Germany v Play-off winner A or D (21:00, Munich)
Group F: Portugal v France (21:00, Budapest)


Round of 16

27 June

1: 2A v 2B (18:00, Amsterdam)
2: 1A v 2C (21:00, London)

28 June

3: 1C v 3D/E/F (18:00, Budpest)
4: 1B v 3A/D/E/F (21:00, Bilbao)

29 June

5: 2D v 2E (18:00, Copenhagen)
6: 1F v 3A/B/C (21:00, Bucharest)

30 June

7: 1D v 2F (18:00, Dublin)
8: 1E v 3A/B/C/D (21:00, Glasgow)

Rest days on 1 and 2 July


3 July

QF1: Winner 6 v Winner 5 (18:00, St Petersburg)
QF2: Winner 4 v Winner 2 (21:00, Munich)

4 July

QF3: Winner 3 v Winner 1 (18:00, Baku)
QF4: Winner 8 v Winner 7 (21:00, Rome)
Rest days on 5 and 6 July


7 July

SF1: Winner QF2 v Winner QF1 (21:00, London)

8 July

SF2: Winner QF4 v Winner QF3 (21:00, London)
Rest days on 9, 10, 11 July


12 July

Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 (21:00, London)



Statistics for the UEFA European Championship.

Table 1. Most successful national teams in UEFA European Championship
Team Titles Finals Participation
Germany 3 6 12
Spain 3 4 10
France 2 2 9
Czechoslovakia 1 2 3
Portugal 1 2 7
Denmark 1 1 8
Greece 1 1 4
Italy 1 1 9
Netherlands  1 1 9
Soviet Union 1 1 5

In total, ten nations have won the tournament. All previous winners except Greece is participated in the 2020 edition.