The UEFA Cup existed from 1971 to 2009 until it change its name to the Europa League. At the same time the structure changed from a knockout tournament to a group tournament. Whereas the European Cup included teams that had won their domestic leagues the UEFA Cup included the closest runners-up (how many teams that qualified from each league differed depending on rankings and seeding. From the season 1999-2000 the tournament also included winners of the domestic cups due to a merge of the Cup Winner's Cup.

Winners and runners-up

All the winners and runners-up trough the years of the UEFA Cup. The very last UEFA Cup tournament was played in the season 2008-2009. After that, the tournament changed setup and was renamed Europa League, continue to Europe League winners and runners-up.

Season Winner Runner-up
2008-2009 Shakhtar Donetsk Werder Bremen
2007-2008 Zenit Rangers
2006-2007 Sevilla Espanyol
2005-2006 Sevilla Middlesbrough
2004-2005 CSKA Moscow Sporting
2003-2004 Valencia Marsielle
2002-2003 Porto Celtic
2001-2002 Feyernoord Borussia Dortmund
2000-2001 Liverpool Deportivo Alavés
1999-2000 Galatasaray Arsenal
1998-1999 Parma Marsielle
1997-1998 Internazionale Lazio
1996-1997 Schalke 04 Internazionale
1995-1996 Bayern Munich Bordeaux
1994-1995 Parma Juventus
1993-1994 Internazionale Casino Salzburg
1992-1993 Juventus Borussia Dortmund
1991-1992 Ajax Torino
1990-1991 Internazionale Roma
1989-1990 Juventus Fiorentina
1988-1989 Napoli Stuttgart
1987-1988 Bayer Leverkusen Espanyol
1986-1987 IFK Göteborg Dundee United
1985-1986 Real Madrid Köln
1984-1985 Real Madrid Videoton
1983-1984 Tottenham Anderlecht
1982-1983 Anderlecht Benfica
1981-1982 IFK Göteborg Hamburger
1980-1981 Ipswich AZ
1979-1980 Eintracht Frankfurt Borussia Mönchengladbach
1978-1979 Borussia Mönchengladbach Red Star
1977-1978 PSV Eindhoven Bastia
1976-1977 Juventus Athletic Bilbao
1975-1976 Liverpool Club Brugge
1974-1975 Borussia Mönchengladbach Twente
1973-1974 Feyernoord Tottenham
1972-1973 Liverpool Borussia Mönchengladbach
1971-1972 Tottenham Wolverhampton

As the table show, the UEFA Cup started in 1971. It was preceded by the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup that existed between 1955 and 1971, but was not originally arranged by UEFA.



Including the 1996-1997 season, the final was played in a two-legged match. It would when change to a one match final on a neutral ground from 1997-1998 season.

In the first decade of the UEFA Cup English and West Germany club performed well. In the 1980s Swedish teams won quite surprisingly the tournament twice. Italy was dominating in the 1990s and Spain in the 2000s.


The most successful clubs in the tournament's history are Juventus, Internazionale and Liverpool, with three trophies each. Six clubs have won the tournament twice: Borussia Mönchengladbach, Tottenham, Feyernoord, IFK Göteborg, Real Madrid and Parma.

Table 2. Clubs and UEFA Cup titles
Club Titles
Juventus 3
Internazionale 3
Liverpool 3
Borussia Mönchengladbach 2
Tottenham 2
Feyernoord 2
IFK Göteborg 2
Real Madrid 2
Parma 2

In addition, these teams have won once: Wolverhampton Wanderers, Twente, Brugge, Bastia, Red Star Belgrade, Benfica, Marseille, AZ, Hamburg, Vidi, Köln, Dundee United, Stuttgart, Fiorentina, Roma, Torino, Salzburg, Bordeaux, Lazio, Arsenal, Alavés, Celtic, Sporting, Middlesbrough, Rangers, Borussia Dortmund, Porto, Espanyol, Athletic Bilbao and Werder Bremen.

UEFA Cup timeline

1971 The competition is established.
1986 Real Madrid become the first club to win the tournament two years in a row.
1999 The tournament is merged with the Cup Winner's Cup.
2009 The tournament is rebranded to Europa League.